A Northern Blog: The world seen through northern eyes — “Katelyn Malo and the World’s Biggest, Tiny Art Festival : Why its great to live in a smaller city!”

2017_April17_2KatyMalo_HoldingTinyArtbyMichelleBrazeau_DSC0029

Katelyn Malo, holds up a tiny 5 inches by 5 inches painting by Michelle Brazeau, one of the entrants in the Tiny Art Juried Art Exhibit that will run at Malo’s Black Spruce Art Gallery from May 2nd to June 30th, 2017. Deadline for submissions is April 20th at 5:30 pm. Photo by Frank Giorno

Here is the beautiful thing about living in a smaller community like Timmins.

You get to meet really neat people like photographer and gallery owner Katelyn Malo.

Katelyn will hosting the Tiny Art Exhibit in Timmins at the Black Spruce Art Gallery 40 Pine St. S. from May 2 to June 30th. All entries cannot be bigger than than 5 inches by 5 inches and the framing cannot exceed 10 inches by 10 inches.

Sculptures are welcome as well as paintings, photographs, and other visuals. Sculptures can be 6 inches by six inches in size.

I first met Katelyn about five years ago when she published a book titled Timmins: Portraits of a Hometown.

Back then, I invited Katelyn to talk about her book of amazing photos at Timmins Voices, which I was hosting at Christopher’s Coffee House back in 2012.

Today, she continues her photography, while operating the Black Spruce Gallery and Framing store. She has held so many great exhibits. I can’t list them all here. Go to the Black Spruce Gallery website Black Spruce Gallery Timmins

2017_April17_KatyMalo_HoldingTinyArt_DSC0029

Katelyn says the Tiny Art Exhibit has been a real laugh…so much fun. Here Katelyn is holding Michelle Brazeau’s 5″x5″ entry. Photo by Frank Giorno .

This Miniature or Tiny Art Exhibit as I refer to in my article — it is a great idea.

And I will submit 4 pieces, 2 ink drawings and 2 photos.

The other neat thing about living in a small city like Timmins (41,000 at last count) is that you really get to know a person and also their family.

I met Katelyn’s father Dr. Larry Malo (originally from Toronto by the way) at the Timmins Voices event for Katelyn in 2012.

Two years later I stumbled onto his property around December 2014 or 2015 taking photographs for the Christmas Bird count — an annual Timmins event.

As I was snapping away at birds on this property in mid -Timmins, a kindly owner opened the door to inquire who might be taking photos on this Dec.23rd?

We had a good laugh. Dr. Malo, actually helped me identify the bird a scarlet something grosbeak or nuthatch of something.

He even grabbed a pair of binoculars so we could look closer at the bird to better identify it.

Fast forward to August, 2016. I am lieing on top of a gurney at the Timmins District Hospital ready for my stomach hernia operation. The nurse comes by and says the anesthesiologist will be by in 5 minutes. I was expecting a female doctor who interviewed my the previous week, but instead I hear “Hello” from a masculine voice.

It was a smiling Dr. Malo — ” Are we ready for this operation?” he asked.

“I want you to count from one hundred backwards to zero,” he said.

I don’t think I made it past 97. I was out and a few seconds later… or so it seemed to me, I asked the nurse when the operation would begin…she laughed, and said it was over 30 minutes ago.

So not only have I got to know Katelyn, but her father, Dr. Larry Malo, also has been a positive factor in my life.

Not sure what the odds of this happening in Toronto are. Any one know?

Enjoy the story about Katelyn’s Miniature or Tiny Art Juried Exhibit (see the link below) and stay tuned for more on the Tiny Art Exhibit. I will be at the opening.

Black Spruce Gallery is holding the biggest, tiny art event ever

Artist submission deadline is Deadline is Thursday, April 20

TimminsToday.com

 

_DSC0025

Leave a Reply

